Tasmanian Certificate of Education (TCE)

The Tasmanian Certificate of Education or TCE, is the main credential awarded to secondary schools students who successfully complete years 11 and 12 in Tasmania, Australia.

In order to achieve the TCE students must meet the following requirements. 

120 points of subjects

A minimum of 60 Points each in year 11 and 12  (equivalent of 600 hours of study)

80 points must be at level 2 subjects or better (i.e. level 3)

Requires 4 “ticks” achieved through specific subjects for;

  • Numeracy
  • Literacy
  • ICT
  • Pathway Planning

TCE points can be attained through studying Tasmanian Assessment, Standards and Certification (TASC) accredited courses and Vocational Education and Training programs (VET)

TASC Subjects

TASC subjects are organised into level 3 levels of difficulty – levels 1,2,3 and 4 (with level 1 being the lowest). Level 3 and 4 subjects are also known as pre-tertiary subjects or university entrance subjects.

 - Subjects are allocated points that are used to calculate the total number of points a student requires to attain their TCE. 

 - Most courses studied are 150 hours courses (C courses) which can be studied at levels 1, 2, 3 & 4.

 - Some courses are 100 hour courses (B courses) and these can be studied at level 1 or 2.

 - There are also shorter 50 hour courses (A courses) which can be studied at level 1, 2 or 3.

Vocational Education and Training programs (VET)

The VET programs range from Certificate 1 to Certificate IV. VET programs, sometimes known as certificate programs, vary in hours per week and the points they attract towards the TCE. Students will need to check the points against these course for VET during the enrolment process.

TASC Planner

TASC has developed a TCE Planner tool to assist students in establishing their subject selection for years 11 and 12.

TASC Planner Tool

University Entrance

If students are intending to go to university after Year 12 they need to ensure that they have;

 - checked the university course requirements

 - checked that they have the necessary pre-requisites for level 3 subjects

 - selected at least one level 3 subject in Year 11

 - preferably 5 level 3 subjects, over 2 years for Uni entrance (3 must be gained in year 12)

 - checked the UTAS College program for courses they can undertake while in Year 11 and 12

 - Checked that they will cover the TCE requirements in 2 years at College

VET Entrance

If students are intending to enrol in a VET program after Year 12, have they:

 - applied for a VET program for year 12

 - and selected 2 or 3 additional TASC subjects to make up your load

 - selected an alternative set of subjects in case you do not get into your chosen VET program

Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR)

ATARs (Australian Tertiary Admissions Ranks) are used in admissions to universities in Australia. The Academic Senate of the University of Tasmania has decided that from 2016 onwards, to be eligible for the calculation of an ATAR, students will have to have met the standards for the award of the Tasmanian Certificate of Education (TCE).

Click Here for more information

To qualify for an Australian Tertiary Admission Rank Statement (after the completion of Year 12 or 13 in 2015) you must:

  • have completed two years' of post-year 10 studies (year 11 and year 12)
  • have completed satisfactorily at least 4 TASC level 3 or level 4 (pre-tertiary) courses
  • have completed at least three TASC level 3 or level 4 (pre-tertiary) courses in your final year of study (either year 12 or year 13).

You can complete more than 5 TASC level 3 or level 4 (pre-tertiary) courses (over a two year period). Up to five scores can count towards an ATAR.

The rules for eligibility for an ATAR change for students completing year 12 in 2016.

Click Here for information about this change.

Your ATAR will be calculated on your best five scores in level 3 or 4 courses. You may do more courses but your ATAR will be based on a maximum of 5 scores.

An ATAR is calculated as follows:

scores in at least three level 3 or 4 courses MUST come from the final year of study (either Year 12 or Year 13). The three highest scores from this final year of study are added together with the next best one or two scores from the same year or one other year (e.g. three from year 12 and two from year 11 or four from year 12 and one from year 11).

The two years of study from which your ATAR can be calculated do not have to be consecutive.

TASC calculates a score for each university entrance (pre-tertiary) course. These course scores are then used to calculate your Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR).

The same course CANNOT be counted twice. If you repeat a course, the higher score is used, unless course appeared in top scores in previously.

TASC will advise eligible students of their scores and ATAR. Since 2005, results in approved university studies have also been included in ATAR calculations.

If you DO NOT qualify for an Australian Tertiary Admission Rank Statement and wish to attend university, please refer to the University of Tasmania web site for General Entry Requirements.

All information above is sourced from: Office of Tasmanian, Assessment, Standards and Certification